Fort Erie Native Friendship Centre Logo

The Fort Erie Native Friendship Centre (FENFC) was incorporated on February 17, 1983 and became a member of the Ontario Federation of Indigenous Friendship Centres (OFIFC) in 1984. The centre’s founding directors are Verna Grace Hill, Gerald Alexander Hope, Olivene Marie Hill, Elaine King, Dalton Bernard St. Germain, Eleanor Elizabeth Martin, Loris Arnold Jamieson, Ethel Leona Moses, Peter Wayne Hill and Orval Porter.

In 1982, the Native community started procedures to become incorporated as a non-profit charitable organisation. This was achieved in February 1983, and in April 1983 the Centre received core funding becoming the first satellite Friendship Centre in Canada to become a fully funded Friendship Centre. In 1984, the Centre was able to acquire the St. Paul’s Parish Hall and became the first Native Friendship Centre to acquire Native community urban property without government or any other capital assistance.

Back to Map

Contact Info

796 Buffalo Road

Fort Erie , Ontario L2A 5H2

Phone: (905) 871-8931

Fax: (905) 871-9655

  Click to Email

  Visit Our Website

Declaration white icon with red feather pen

This Friendship Centre is a signatory of the Declaration of Mutual Commitment and Friendship. Through this Declaration, the Friendship Centre and the local municipal government have demonstrated their commitment to collaborate and improve the wellbeing of their urban Indigenous community members.