The governance relationship between the OFIFC and member Friendship Centres is based on an evergreen agreement identifying the roles and responsibilities each party has to each other in the delivery of services, funding, support, reporting and advocacy.

 The OFIFC is governed by a Board of Directors with representatives from member Friendship Centres, two youth representatives (one from each of northern and southern Ontario), a president and two non-voting Elders. The Board guides the Federation responsibly, providing accountability and overall direction to the OFIFC.

 The OFIFC Board is supported by an Executive Committee that makes decisions between meetings on behalf of the Board, ensuring that the work of the OFIFC can move forward.